Campfires prohibited in many northeast Washington counties

The Washington State Department of Natural Resources (DNR) announced today campfire restrictions on lands that it protects in many northeast Washington counties.

Effective 12:01 a.m. on Aug. 11, 2017:

  • All campfires are prohibited in Ferry, Lincoln north of Highway 2, Okanogan, Pend Oreille, Spokane and Stevens counties are prohibited.

Daily updates on burn restrictions are available at 1-800-323-BURN or on the Fire Danger and Outdoor Burning risk map at and Industrial Fire Precaution Levels map at

DNR’s wildfire mission

Administered by Commissioner of Public Lands Hilary Franz, DNR is responsible for preventing and fighting wildfires on 13 million acres of private, state and tribal-owned forestlands. DNR is the state’s largest on-call fire department and participates in Washington’s coordinated interagency approach to firefighting.

Janet Pearce
Communications Manager
360-688-3047 (cell)

Guy Gifford
Public Information Officer

Edward Lewis
Wildfire Section Manager
Northeast Region
Washington State Department of Natural Resources (DNR)

JFPD 3&8
25266 Hwy 395 N
Kettle Falls, WA 99141

Copyright © 2024 by
The Joint Fire Protection District 3 and 8
Stevens and Ferry Counties, WA
All Rights Reserved.

Website Last Updated: April 15, 2024

Hosting Services Provided by SecureWebs
Powered by HuckleSoft